10/08/2019 - 17/08/2019

@wbsc   #U19SoftballWC  

Hosted by:   USA

U-19 Women's Softball World Cup 2019 - Official Payoff

Netherlands aims to finish among Top 6 in the baseball world as roster revealed for WBSC Premier12


AMSTERDAM – Europe’s highest-ranked baseball country, world No. 8 Netherlands, today unveiled its roster for November’s major international baseball competition, the 2019 WBSC Premier12.

Team Kingdom of the Netherlands manager Hensley Meulens presented the 28 players on his roster, highlighted by former Major League Baseball (MLB) players Jair Jurrjens, Shairon Martis and Roger Bernadina.

Meulens’ roster will carry a 13-man pitching staff led by the winning pitcher of the Final of the 2011 Baseball World Cup, veteran Rob Cordemans. Among the 15 position players are top level prospects in Minor League Baseball (MiLB), such as Juremi Profar (Double-A, Texas Rangers), Ray-Patrick Didder (Triple-A, Atlanta Braves) and Chadwick Tromp (Triple A, Cincinnati Reds).

Along with 15 players who play professionally in either affiliated leagues or independent leagues, the roster for the Orange consists of 11 players from the top baseball league in the Netherlands, the “Hoofdklasse” league, 1 player from the German Baseball Bundesliga and 1 player from the Curaçaoan Liga Aqualectra.

Meulens will be supported in his staff by five-time MLB All-Star Andruw Jones, who played in the inaugural 2015 Premier12, and Hall of Fame pitcher Bert Blyleven.

“Meulens and his team will strive to do better than eight-place finish in 2015 and will fight hard to reach the Super Round,” said the Royal Dutch Baseball and Softball Association (KNBSB).

Drawn into Group A, the Netherlands opens the opening round against world No. 2 USA at Charros Stadium in Guadalajara, Mexico, on 2 November.


Roster – The National Baseball Team of Netherlands

Pitchers Team
Mike Bolsenbroek Heidenheim Heideköpfe
Rob Cordemans L&D Amsterdam
Lars Huijer Hoofddorp Pioniers
Orsen Josephina Pittsburgh Pirates
Jair Jurrjens
Kevin Kelly Curaçao Neptunus
Diegomar Markwell Curaçao Neptunus
Shairon Martis Lincoln SaltDogs
Jim Ploeger L&D Amsterdam
Tom Stuifbergen L&D Amsterdam
Juan Carlos Sulbaran DSS
Franklin van Gurp San Diego Padres
Orlando Yntema Curaçao Neptunus
Catchers Team
Hendrik Clementina Cincinnati Reds
Sicnarf Loopstok Cleveland Indians
Chadwick Tromp Cincinnati Reds
Infielders Team
Calten Daal Cincinnati Reds
Yurendell de Caster Wild Cats (Curaçao)
Ray-Patrick Didder Atlanta Braves
Dwayne Kemp Curaçao Neptunus
Juremi Profar Texas Rangers
Sharlon Schoop L&D Amsterdam
Curt Smith Lincoln SaltDogs
Gianfranco Wawoe Southern Illinois Miners
Outfielders Team
Roger Bernadina Algonderos de Unión Laguna
Gilmer Lampe L&D Amsterdam
Ademar Rifaela Baltimore Orioles
Kalian Sams L&D Amsterdam
Hensley Meulens Manager
Evert-Jan ‘t Hoen Bench Coach
Andruw Jones Bench Coach
Sharnol Adriana Bench Coach
Sidney de Jong Hitting Coach
Bert Blyleven Pitching Coach
Robin van Doornspeek Pitching Coach
Ben Thijssen 3rd Base Coach
Wim Martinus 1st Base Coach